Canada to ban travelers from Nigeria, Malawi, Egypt over Omicron concerns

Canada will ban vacationers who’ve been to Nigeria, Malawi and Egypt over issues concerning the unfold of the Omicron coronavirus variant, the Toronto Star newspaper stated on Tuesday, citing sources, Trend stories citing Reuters.

Canada has recognized 5 individuals with the brand new variant, no less than two of whom have been lately in Nigeria. The western province of Alberta has detected no less than one case of Omicron, a spokesman for premier Jason Kenney advised the Canadian Broadcasting Corp.

Last week Ottawa barred vacationers who had lately been to South Africa, Namibia, Lesotho, Botswana, Eswatini, Zimbabwe and Mozambique. learn extra

Canadian well being officers are as a result of temporary the media on Omicron at 4 p.m. Eastern Time (2100 GMT).

The premiers of Ontario and Quebec, Canada’s two most populous provinces, are calling on Ottawa to impose harder measures and extra testing for the virus.

A spokeswoman for Transport Minister Omar Alghabra declined to touch upon the Toronto Star report. A spokesman for Health Minister Jean-Yves Duclos didn’t reply to a request for remark.

Source link

Back to top button