West Bengal 2021

EC announces bypoll for Bhabanipur Assembly constituency in Bengal

Key bypoll for Mamata Banerjee to be held for Bhabanipur Assembly constituency in West Bengal on September 30

The Election Commission (EC) has introduced the schedule for bypoll in one Assembly constituency in West Bengal, which Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee is anticipated to contest, whereas maintaining bypolls to 3 Lok Sabha and 31 different Assembly seats pending.

Ms. Banerjee, who misplaced from Nandigram in May and is at present not an MLA, has time till November to get elected in an effort to proceed as Chief Minister.

The Bhabanipur Assembly constituency byelection can be held on September 30 and votes can be counted on October 3. Nominations can be filed from September 6 until September 13.

Polls for Samserganj and Jangipur in West Bengal and Pipli in Odisha, which had been adjourned as a result of dying of candidates through the Assembly elections, have been deferred as a result of COVID-19 scenario in May.

The EC introduced polling for these three seats may even be held on September 30 and relying on October 3.

To assess the opportunity of holding elections, the EC held a gathering with State officers on Wednesday.

The Chief Secretaries of Andhra Pradesh, Assam, Bihar, Haryana, Himachal Pradesh, Madhya Pradesh, Meghalaya, Rajasthan, Telangana, Uttarakhand, Uttar Pradesh and the adviser to Union Territory of Dadra and Nagar Haveli and Daman & Diu knowledgeable the EC of flood-related constraints, festivals and the COVID-19 scenario, the EC assertion mentioned.

“They suggested that it would be advisable to have byelections after the end of the festive season,” it mentioned.

Some States additionally knowledgeable the EC of the federal government in addition to analysis our bodies predicting a attainable third wave of the pandemic in October.

The Chief Secretaries of Odisha and West Bengal, nevertheless, informed the EC that the COVID-19 scenario of their States have been below management. The Bengal Chief Secretary additionally informed the panel that the State was prepared to carry elections and that the floods had not affected the poll-bound constituencies. The official additionally cited Article 164 (4) of the Constitution, saying {that a} Minister who just isn’t an MLA for six consecutive months shall stop to be a Minister on the finish of that interval.

“He has also informed that in view of administrative exigencies and public interest and to avoid vacuum in the State, byelections for 159-Bhabanipur, Kolkata from where Ms. Mamata Banerjee, Chief Minister intends to contest, may be conducted,” the EC mentioned.

It mentioned it had determined to not maintain bypolls within the 31 Assembly seats and three Lok Sabha seats after contemplating the inputs of the Chief Secretaries and Chief Electoral Officers of these States.

“Considering the constitutional exigency and special request from State of West Bengal, it has decided to hold byelection in 159-Bhabanipur AC,” the EC mentioned.

The ballot panel mentioned stricter norms had been put in place, together with limiting indoor conferences to 30% of allowed capability or 200 individuals, whichever is much less.

Source link

Back to top button