Local channel T-Sports to telecast remainder of Bangladesh-West Indies series

Local channel T-Sports has bagged the broadcasting rights for the rest of Bangladesh’s tour of West Indies, beginning with the St Lucia Test from June 24. The channel’s chief govt Ishtiaque Sadeque confirmed the excellent news for the followers in Bangladesh. Later, the ICC additionally confirmed to the BCB that they’ll present the remainder of the West Indies-Bangladesh sequence freed from price on ICC TV.

The newest developments will come as a aid to Bangladesh followers following a TV blackout of the primary Test in Antigua, as not one of the Bangladeshi channels picked up the West Indies tour. It was the primary time since 2001 {that a} Test match involving Bangladesh wasn’t proven on TV within the nation.

Negotiations between the rights-holders, Total Sports Management, and Bangladesh’s TV networks had didn’t agree on a deal. The Antigua Test was at first solely obtainable on the ICC streaming channel for a subscription charge, earlier than the BCB confirmed the match on days three and 4 on their Facebook and YouTube channels just for Bangladeshi viewers.

It had reached this level after T-Sports or Gazi TV, by the way the 2 channels which were exhibiting Bangladesh’s worldwide matches lately, did not land a take care of TSM. Both channels have reportedly purchased the BCB’s broadcasting rights for 2021-23 from Ban Tech, who had initially purchased it from the board for $19.07 million final 12 months.

The chance of a TV blackout had at all times been probably from earlier this 12 months when the Bangladesh broadcasting rights had been solely picked up every week from the beginning of the New Zealand-Bangladesh Test sequence in January. Last 12 months, the Bangladesh-Australia T20I sequence wasn’t aired in Australia on account of a scarcity of curiosity. The final time a Bangladesh Test wasn’t proven on TV was again in 2001, throughout the Asian Test Championship.

After the second Test in St Lucia, Bangladesh will play West Indies in three T20Is on July 2, 3 and seven, and three ODIs on July 10, 13 and 16.

Source link

Back to top button