Opposition Slams New Bihar Law Minister Over Involvement In Criminal Cases

Nitish Kumar stated that he had no data on the alleged excellent arrest warrant.


With Bihar Chief Minister Nitish Kumar allotting the portfolios within the first Cabinet growth, the induction of Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD) Member of Legislative Council (MLC) Kartikeya Singh because the regulation minister of the state has induced a stir because the opposition slammed Singh over his involvement in felony instances.

Notably, RJD chief Kartikeya Singh, now a minister within the Bihar cupboard, was granted interim bail until September 1 by the court docket on August 12 and no coercive was issued to him.

Bihar Chief Minister Nitish Kumar stated that he had no data on the alleged excellent arrest warrant.

“I do not know, I have no information about this,” stated Nitish Kumar.

The Bharatiya Janata Party took a jibe on the Nitish Kumar-led Bihar authorities and stated that the state’s regulation minister needs to be instantly dismissed.

“If Kartikeya Singh (RJD) had a warrant against him, he should have surrendered. But he has taken oath as Law Minister. I ask Nitish, is he trying to take Bihar back to Lalu’s times? Kartikeya Singh should be immediately dismissed,” stated BJP MP Sushil Kumar Modi.

Earlier a complete of 31 ministers have been inducted into the Bihar cupboard on Tuesday from numerous events which can be a part of the Mahagathbandhan or the Grand Alliance within the state.

The new ministers have been administered the oath of workplace and secrecy by Bihar Governor Phagu Chauhan at Raj Bhavan.

While Chief Minister Nitish Kumar stored the essential Home Department portfolio with himself, Deputy Chief Minister Tejashwi Yadav took cost of the Health portfolio within the first Cabinet growth of the newly-formed Mahagathbandhan authorities in Bihar. Janata Dal Union JD(U) chief Vijay Kumar Chaudhary received the Finance Department and RJD chief Tej Pratap Yadav was given cost of Minister of Environment, Forest and Climate Change.

Of the 31 ministers sworn into the Bihar cupboard, 16 have been from Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD), 11 have been from Nitish’s Janta Dal-United (JD-U), two have been from Congress and one was from Hindustani Awam Morch (HAM) and one was an Independent lawmaker.

Shortly after the cupboard ministers have been sworn in, Chief Minister Nitish Kumar instructed reporters that the portfolios will probably be allotted quickly to every minister and he’ll maintain a gathering on this regard.

Two legislators from the Congress, one from Jitin Ram Manjhi’s Hindustani Awam Morcha and the lone Independent MLA, Sumit Kumar Singh, additionally took oath as cupboard ministers.

From RJD, Deputy chief minister Tejashwi Yadav’s brother Tej Pratap Yadav, Samir Kumar Mahaseth, Chandrashekhar, Kumar Sarvajeet, Lalit Yadav, Surendra Prasad Yadav, Ramanand Yadav, Jitendra Kumar Rai, Anita Devi and Sudhakar Singh and Alok Mehta took oath.

Congress legislators Afaque Alam and Murari Lal Gautam have been inducted as ministers, whereas Hindustani Awam Morcha’s Santosh Suman was additionally sworn in.

The Bihar cupboard can have as much as 36 ministers, together with the chief minister. Some ministerial berths will probably be stored vacant for future cupboard growth, sources stated.

Nitish Kumar had damaged away from the BJP and shaped a authorities with the RJD and different events earlier this month. The Chief Minister and his deputy – RJD’s Tejashwi Yadav – took oath on August 10.

The Bihar Grand Alliance has a mixed energy of 163. Its efficient energy climbed to 164 after Independent MLA Sumit Kumar Singh prolonged assist to Nitish Kumar. The new authorities is prone to show its majority within the Bihar Assembly on August 24.

The BJP’s central management will maintain a gathering with the celebration’s Bihar unit leaders right here on Tuesday, days after the JD(U) parted methods with it and shaped a brand new authorities within the state.

They are prone to deliberate upon the BJP’s future plan of action, and the technique for the 2024 Lok Sabha polls, sources stated, including organisational modifications may come up for dialogue. The assembly will probably be chaired by BJP nationwide president Jagat Prakash Nadda and normal secretary (organisation) BL Santhosh can even be current.

The 2020 Assembly polls in Bihar have been tightly contested with the National Democratic Alliance profitable 125 seats, with BJP profitable 74 of those, the Janata Dal (United) of Nitish Kumar 43, the Vikassheel Insaan Party 4 and Hindustan Awaam Party (Secular) 4. This put the NDA simply above the requisite 122-majority mark wanted to type the federal government.

The RJD and its allies, then again, had gained 110 seats. The RJD completed because the single-largest celebration with 75 seats, whereas Congress gained a mere 19 seats. Of the 29 seats the Left events had contested, they gained in 16, with the CPI (ML-Liberation) profitable 12 of them. Asaduddin Owaisi’s AIMIM had gained 5 seats within the Seemanchal area of the state. Four of its MLAs have switched to the RJD.

(Except for the headline, this story has not been edited by NDTV employees and is revealed from a syndicated feed.)

Source link

Back to top button