Sam Billings added to England Test squad for series decider against India | Cricket News – Times of India

LONDON: Kent wicket-keeper Sam Billings has been added to the England Men’s Test squad for the rearranged fifth Test versus India beginning on Friday at Edgbaston.
Billings has stepped into the group as a COVID substitute for Ben Foakes, whose place is unsure whereas he undergoes 5 days of isolation.

One possible change for the India Test would be the return of James Anderson to guide the assault, having missed the Headingley match with an ankle niggle.

The rescheduled match is part of final yr’s five-match Test sequence that needed to be delayed after the fourth Test attributable to a COVID-19 outbreak within the Indian camp.
The announcement by England and Wales Cricket Board (ECB) got here after the hosts romped house to a seven-wicket victory towards New Zealand in Headingley to finish a sequence whitewash. Jonathan Bairstow remained unbeaten on a 44-ball 71, whereas Root scored 86* as England romped house to a seven-wicket victory.

With the victory, England overtook New Zealand within the standings, with a win share of 28.89. New Zealand now occupy the penultimate spot on the desk, simply above Bangladesh, with a win share of 25.93.
England’s Test squad: Ben Stokes (Durham) captain, James Anderson (Lancashire), Jonathan Bairstow (Yorkshire), Sam Billings (Kent), Stuart Broad (Nottinghamshire), Harry Brook (Yorkshire), Zak Crawley (Kent), Ben Foakes (Surrey), Jack Leach (Somerset), Alex Lees (Durham), Craig Overton (Somerset), Jamie Overton (Surrey), Matthew Potts (Durham), Ollie Pope (Surrey), and Joe Root (Yorkshire).
On Monday, The All-India Senior Selection Committee added Mayank Agarwal to India’s Test squad for the rescheduled fifth Test as cowl for captain Rohit Sharma, who examined optimistic for COVID-19. Mayank has left for the UK and can hyperlink up with the squad in Birmingham.
India’s Test squad: Rohit Sharma (Captain), Shubman Gill, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, Hanuma Vihari, Cheteshwar Pujara, Rishabh Pant (wk), KS Bharat (wk), Ravindra Jadeja, Ravichandran Ashwin, Shardul Thakur, Mohd Shami, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohd Siraj, Umesh Yadav, Prasidh Krishna, and Mayank Agarwal.

Source link

Back to top button