Shreyas Iyer Gets Test Cap From Sunil Gavaskar In India Vs New Zealand First Test In Kanpur, BCCI Shares Video | Cricket News

November 25, 2021 is more likely to be some of the particular days in Shreyas Iyer’s cricketing profession. The right-handed batter, who’s all set to play his first Test for India, received his maiden Test cap from none apart from the legendary Sunil Gavaskar forward of the primary Test match towards New Zealand on the Green Park in Kanpur on Thursday. BCCI shared a video on its official social media deal with during which Gavaskar was seen sharing phrases of encouragement earlier than handing over the cap to Iyer, who kissed the batch earlier than placing it on. Iyer was then congratulated by his teammates with heat hugs.

“A moment to cherish for @ShreyasIyer15 as he receives his #TeamIndia Test cap from Sunil Gavaskar – one of the best to have ever graced the game,” BCCI captioned the video.

Iyer, who has been fairly successful within the middle-order in white-ball cricket, will probably be batting at No.4 or 5 on this Test match towards New Zealand. The 26-year-old has a formidable common of 52 together with 12 a whole lot in First Class cricket.

India are with out their common Test captain Virat Kohli, who will probably be again for the subsequent Test. Rohit Sharma can also be not a part of the Test facet and an harm to KL Rahul meant India needed to put off their concepts of making an attempt out Shubman Gill within the center order. Gill is ready to open the batting with Mayank Agarwal, who’s making a comeback on the prime of the order.

India’s stand-in captain Ajinkya Rahane, in the meantime, gained the toss and opted to bat first. Rahane mentioned this can be a good alternative for the children to point out their mettle within the absence of senior gamers.

“(The Kanpur pitch) Generally slows down later on here. It’s an opportunity for all of us here to do well here and in Mumbai. Few of the senior guys are missing. So it’s an opportunity for the youngsters,” he mentioned on the toss.

India have gone in with three spinners and two seamers. With Ravindra Jadeja, Ravichandran Ashwin and Axar Patel being the three spinners, India have the benefit of batting deep.

Umesh Yadav and Ishant Sharma are the 2 specialist seamers as India determined to not embrace Mohammed Siraj within the Playing XI.


New Zealand Playing XI: Tom Latham, Will Young, Kane Williamson(c), Ross Taylor, Henry Nicholls, Tom Blundell(w), Rachin Ravindra, Tim Southee, Ajaz Patel, Kyle Jamieson, William Somerville

India Playing XI: Shubman Gill, Mayank Agarwal, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane(c), Shreyas Iyer, Wriddhiman Saha(w), Ravindra Jadeja, Axar Patel, Ravichandran Ashwin, Ishant Sharma, Umesh Yadav

Topics talked about on this article

Source link

Back to top button